Chaplets for Special Needs and/or Themes


All Souls Rosary


This chaplet is said on an ordinary rosary. On the Crucifix say the psalm “Out of the Depths.” Say the Our Father on the large beads. Offer each decade for a particular intention.


Chaplet for Priests




There are fourteen beads. First the creed on the cross, one Our Father, one Glory Be. On the loop: one Glory Be, four Hail Marys, two Glory Bes, four Hail Marys and one Our Father.




Lord Jesus, you have chosen your priests from among us and sent them out to proclaim your word and to act in your name. For so great a gift to your Church, we give you praise and thanksgiving. We ask you to fill them with the fire of your love, that their ministry may reveal your presence in the Church. Since they are earthen vessels, we pray that your power shine through their weakness. In their affections let them never be crushed; in their doubts never despair; in temptation never be destroyed; and in persecution never abandoned. Inspire them through prayer to live each day the mystery of your dying and rising. In times of weakness send them your Spirit, and help them to praise your heavenly Father and pray for poor sinners. By the same Holy Spirit put your word on their lips and your love in their hearts, to bring good news to the poor and healing to the broken-hearted. And may the gift of Mary your mother to the disciple whom you loved be your gift to every priest. Grant that she who formed you within her in human image, may form them in your divine image, by the power of your Spirit, to the glory of God the Father, Amen.


Chaplet of the Virtues


The chaplet consists of seven sets of three beads divided by seven single beads for the virtues.


On the cross start with the Apostles’ Creed.


On the first bead pray the consecration to Mary: My Queen, my Mother, I give myself entirely to you and to show my devotion to you I consecrate to you this day, my eyes, my ears, my mouth, my heart, my whole being without reserve. As I am you own, my good Mother, guard me and defend me as your property and possession. Amen.


On the next bead say the Angelus.


Naming each virtue on the black beads say The Lord’s Prayer, the Glory be and a prayer to the Holy Spirit on the set of three beads.


The virtues are: faith, hope, charity, humility, patience, perseverance, obedience.


Electronic Rosary

From Shrine of Divine Love, Rome, Italy


Irish Penal Rosary


This rosary was used during times of religious oppression in Ireland. The symbols are as follows:


Hammer: nails of the cross

Nails: crucifixion

Spear: wound

Halo: crown of thorns

Cords: scourging

Chalice: Last Supper

Rooster: crowing/resurrection


Missionary Rosary


The Mission Rosary links two major concerns of our church: prayer and apostolate. The rosary is a traditional form of prayer which combines remembrance, praise and petition. It remembers the events of Salvation History, and is in fact the memorial of Christ’s mission. The Hail Mary as essential part of the Rosary combines praise and intercession. It praises God for the wonderful things he has done for Mary and through her. But its second half also reminds us that we are in need of God’s help and protection which we seek with Mary as intercessor. If the rosary already by itself points to apostolate and mission, this idea has been reinforced by Mary’s urging to convert and evangelize expressed in numerous apparitions. The missionaries of the Society of the Divine Word consider themselves mandated to bring this message to the whole world, especially in view of promoting peace. One of the tools they use is the mission rosary. It encourages prayers for their mission.


The coloured beads symbolize the missionary efforts of the Society of the Divine Word (SVD) in each of the five continents. The beads of each decade of the rosary then has a distinct colour:


Red for the Americas (North and South)

Green for Africa

White for Europe

Blue for Oceania

Yellow for Asia


The missionary rosary follows the normal pattern of Creed, Our Father, three Hail Marys, Glory Be and the five decades (each for the Joyful, Luminous, Sorrowful and Glorious Mysteries). For each of these decades the ten Hail Marys are preceded by the Our Father and conclude with the Glory Be.


Peace Chaplet

This chaplet consists of seven Our Fathers, seven Hail Marys, seven Glory Bes and the Apostles’ Creed followed by the whole rosary.

Rosary Made of Rose Petals


Made by Carmelite monasteries. It is symbolic of the bouquets given to queens and mothers, since the rosary is itself a bouquet of prayers.


Rosary of the Unborn


The intent of this rosary is to be prayed to end abortion and to forgive the sin of abortion.


The Contemporary Rosary


Equipped with three rows of four, five, and ten beads to manually move while praying the rosary.